Terence Fixmer Announces Brand New Album

Terence Fixmer announces details of his brand new album release, THE PARADOX IN ME, and accompanying limited edition 12” vinyl. This is his second album for Mute / NovaMute, and follows the releases of the PARADOX EP series, which shared tracks from the record across specialist digital music platforms.

Throughout his influential career, uncompromising French producer Terence Fixmer has straddled a precarious line, master-minding his own strain of taut, dancefloor-ready techno while simultaneously paying respect to the EBM sounds that helped crack open his mind as a teenager. On THE PARADOX IN ME Fixmer confronts this duality, stretching the limits of dance music by interlacing evocative, cinematic electronics with pounding, peak-time 4/4 pulses. “There’s always a fight between directions,” he says. “This album represents all the sounds I have within me.” 

The 12-track album’s launches with ‘In Synthesis’, a scorching dark techno EBM track, that serves as a potent introduction to the album. Straight to the point and brimming with the kind of raw, all-electronic grit that the artist has inked into an idiosyncratic signature over the last two decades, but there’s a fresh narrative thread this time around, brought to the surface by Fixmer’s hypnotic sound design and atmospheric, soulful melodies.

Listen to ‘In Synthesis’ here:

Fixmer burst onto the scene in the late 1990s, establishing the Planete Rouge label in 1998, and releasing a slew of influential 12″s under a pseudonym before signing to DJ Hell‘s International Deejay Gigolos label and unleashing Muscle Machine, his acclaimed debut album which pioneered a new genre that merging the sounds of EBM and Techno. 

Not long later, he achieved a personal milestone, collaborating with Nitzer Ebb vocalist Douglas McCarthy for two albums as FixmerMcCarthy that bridged the gap between EBM and classic techno. And since then, he’s barely stopped for breath, remixing personal heroes like Front 242, Nitzer Ebb and Depeche Mode, as well as respected peers such as Ellen Allien, DJ Hell, Dave Clarke and Sven Väth, simultaneously building up a canon of work on CLR, Electric Deluxe, Ostgut-Ton and of course, Mute and NovaMute. He channels all this experience into THE PARADOX IN ME, building a world that reconciles his past and present. The essence of the album is the way it effortlessly presents tracks with different kinds of energies and artistic facets, each track has a strong presence, and a unique soul and energy which comes from a place that is specifically – and recognisably Fixmer’s.

This limited edition 12” serves as an accompanying piece to Fixmer’s brand-new album. The vinyl features 6 dark electronic tracks from the album, all infused with his signature energy and thoughtful sound design, and comes with an audio download code of the full-length album.

Fixmer’s passion for electronic music hums from every note and carefully engineered beat on THE PARADOX IN ME. He has created an album that plays almost like an autobiography, and assembles a world that’s tactile and strikingly visual, capturing the soul of the synthesizer in all its forms. 


  1. Test of the Times
  2. In Synthesis
  3. Razor Sharp
  4. Dark Enough?
  5. Another End
  6. Paroxysm
  7. Shore Break
  8. Ephemere
  9. Evolve
  10. Close to You
  11. Void Machinery
  12. Glacier


  1. Ephemere
  2. In Synthesis
  3. Evolve
  4. Shore Break
  5. Glacier
  6. Dark Enough?


  • 20 April – Berlin (DE) BERGHAIN
  • 18 May –  Sagunto (ES) RETROFUTURE FESTIVAL
  • 13 July – Lyon (FR) LE SUCRE
  • 26 July – Zurich (CH) HIVE CLUB
  • 31 August – Mannheim (DE) MS
  • 14 Sept – Gijon (ES) LANNA CLUB
  • 2 Nov – Berlin (DE) BERGHAIN