MUTE is an independent record label, originally founded by Daniel Miller in 1978 with the release of his own 7” – The Normal ‘TVOD’ / ‘Warm Leatherette’.

The label has grown from Miller’s one-man operation to a world renowned record label with offices in London and New York. Along with several label subsidiaries, including NovaMute, The Grey Area and Parallel Series, Mute  also runs the publishing arm, Mute Song.  Now, more than ever, Daniel Miller remains heavily involved in Mute’s creative output.


Since its formation, Daniel Miller has signed and developed an amazing array of innovative and groundbreaking artists, including Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Depeche Mode, and Moby, and shown a long-term commitment to numerous highly influential musicians and songwriters. With a current roster that includes established Mute artists such as Goldfrapp, Erasure, Liars, Can, Laibach, Ben Frost, Throbbing Gristle and Josh T. Pearson, alongside newer signings such as A Certain Ratio, New Order, HAAi, Desire Marea, Miss Grit, Alessandro Cortini, KÁRYYN, Daniel Blumberg, Louis Carnell, and Chris Liebing, Miller has ensured that the guiding spirit behind the roster has always been one of artistic freedom and creative exploration.

MUTE NORTH AMERICA is home to the Group’s recording and management divisions based in New York. In addition to the Mute label roster, the US office works with artists such as the Grammy-nominated M83, The Knife, Moby, Junip, Moderat, José González, Fever Ray, Ora the Molecule, The Acid and Daniel Avery.

MUTE SONG began in 1982. Initially working with writer/artists on the Mute label roster, Mute Song has now expanded to represent songwriters and composers from across the musical landscape. With a catalogue of over 100,000 songs, the roster currently includes Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Kali Malone, Royal Trux, Public Service Broadcasting, Kneecap, Hannah Peel, Soft Cell, Bob Geldof, Max Richter, Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe, Swans, Ben Frost, Dexys, Mercury Prize nominee Nadine Shah, Ivor Novello award winner Simon Fisher Turner, Keeley Forsyth and the works of the late multiple Oscar nominee Jóhann Jóhannsson.

Mute has offices in London and New York with a recording studio in London.