• Vince Clarke

    Vince Clarke

  • Goldfrapp


  • The Acid

  • Plastikman

  • New Order

    New Order

  • A Certain Ratio

    A Certain Ratio

  • Lee Ranaldo

    Lee Ranaldo

  • Nicolas Bougaïeff

  • Daniel Avery

  • nonpareils


  • Daniel Blumberg

  • Chris Liebing

    Chris Liebing

  • K Á R Y Y N

    K Á R Y Y N

  • The Pop Group

  • HAAi

  • Sylph

  • Jake Shears

  • JakoJako

  • Sunroof

  • Miss Grit

  • Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming —
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming

  • Cold Specks —
    I Predict a Graceful Expulsion

  • Silicon Teens —
    Music for Parties

  • Carter Tutti Void —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Three Mantras

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Red Mecca

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Voice Of America

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Living Legends

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The Lyceum

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Cabaret Voltaire 1974-76

  • 2×45 —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Original Sound Of Sheffield '78 / '82 Best Of

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The YMCA 27.10.79.

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Methodology '74-'78: Attic Tapes

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Listen Up With Cabaret Voltaire

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Sweet Tooth Bird

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Yours Truly Cellophane Nose

  • Moby —
    This Wild Darkness

  • Fever Ray —
    IDK About You

  • Daniel Avery —
    Slow Fade

  • Fever Ray —
    Wanna Sip

  • Moby —
    Like A Motherless Child

  • Fever Ray —
    To The Moon And Back

  • Liars —
    Staring At Zero

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Moroccan Mountains

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Thrown Over The Wall

  • Liars —
    Cred Woes

  • Ben Frost —
    Threshold Of Faith

  • ADULT. —
    Uncomfortable Positions (feat. Lun*na Menoh)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    New Thing

  • Erasure —
    World Be Gone

  • Erasure —
    Love You To The Sky

  • Can —
    Dizzy Dizzy (The Singles Pt. 2)

  • Can —
    She Brings The Rain (The Singles Pt. 1)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Circular (Right As Rain)

  • ADULT. —
    We Are A Mirror (feat. Douglas J McCarthy)

  • Lift To Experience —
    Falling From Cloud 9

Barry Adamson

‘Oedipus Schmoedipus’ – Out Now

“Adamson can brilliantly—and without words—suggest entire movie scenes with dizzying combinations of dance beats, jazz phrases, finger-snapping big-band arrangements, luscious strings and even references to ’60s French pop.” – Rolling Stone

Barry Adamson’s 1996 album, Oedipus Schmoedipus, available now on
white vinyl (limited to 1000 copies).

Get it here: https://mute.ffm.to/barryadamsonop

“It’s a sexual psychoanalytical journey examining mother and son relationships in a somewhat humorous, yet dark way. It’s about suppressed desire, repulsion and yearning,” says composer and writer Barry Adamson, “I do feel that, in terms of my own relationships, there was some unfinished business in the Oedipal department, that I needed to deal with through this album. This record is both personal and universal.”

The journey of Oedipus Schmoedipus opens and closes with ‘Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Pelvis’, a propulsive fusion of rock, gospel and funk featuring guest artist Pulp’s Jarvis Cocker on lead vocal. “I wanted his dry, humorous take on the nature of sex and relationships, which he is so eloquent and clever at voicing. He was beautifully receptive to the ideas I wanted to get across.” This song, and its reprise at the end of the album, forms the foundation for the album’s exploration. “Psychological factors are always at work in relationships. I’m examining the Oedipal complex, in particular making light of it, and in the end accepting it, to begin all over again.” An interval in the journey is provided by former Associate Billy McKenzie on ‘Achieved In The Valley Of Dolls’, while another guest artist, Nick Cave, provides a considered acceptance of a relationship’s demise with ‘The Sweetest Embrace’. “Nick completely sympathised with what I was trying to say. He wanted me to give him a story, that he picked up on and twisted with great aplomb. The result is a joy to listen to.”

Listen to a new edit of ‘Set the Controls for the Heart of the Pelvis’, featuring Jarvis Cocker:

The reissue series continues on 23 September with the Stranger on the Sofa album (2006), available for the first time on vinyl (pressed initially as double red vinyl), and Back to the Cat (2008) on clear vinylboth originally on Adamson’s own Central Control label – alongside a strictly limited edition (1000 copies) antique blue vinyl issue of 2021’s Steal Away EP of new songs, originally released digitally on Mute alongside his acclaimed memoir.

Then, on 2 December I Will Set You Free (2012) and Know Where To Run (2016), get the reissue treatment (on curacao and silver vinyl, respectively) before Mute continues the series, reissuing Adamson’s entire catalogue.

Stranger on the Sofa & Back to the Cat are out on CD and coloured vinyl on 23 September

Steal Away EP is out on limited coloured vinyl on 23 September

I Will Set You Free & Know Where To Run are out on CD and vinyl on 2 December






Barry Adamson

Reissues A Series of Classic Albums

Read More

Barry Adamson

Announces Details Of A New Ep 'Steal Away'

Read More

Barry Adamson

Shares Brand New Track 'The Hummingbird'

Barry Adamson

Barry Adamson

Announces 40 Year Anthology Release 'Memento Mori'

Barry Adamson