• Vince Clarke

    Vince Clarke

  • Goldfrapp


  • The Acid

  • Plastikman

  • New Order

    New Order

  • A Certain Ratio

    A Certain Ratio

  • Lee Ranaldo

    Lee Ranaldo

  • Nicolas Bougaïeff

  • Daniel Avery

  • nonpareils


  • Daniel Blumberg

  • Chris Liebing

    Chris Liebing

  • K Á R Y Y N

    K Á R Y Y N

  • The Pop Group

  • HAAi

  • Sylph

  • Jake Shears

  • JakoJako

  • Sunroof

  • Miss Grit

  • Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming —
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming

  • Cold Specks —
    I Predict a Graceful Expulsion

  • Silicon Teens —
    Music for Parties

  • Carter Tutti Void —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Three Mantras

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Red Mecca

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Voice Of America

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Living Legends

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The Lyceum

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Cabaret Voltaire 1974-76

  • 2×45 —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Original Sound Of Sheffield '78 / '82 Best Of

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The YMCA 27.10.79.

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Methodology '74-'78: Attic Tapes

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Listen Up With Cabaret Voltaire

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Sweet Tooth Bird

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Yours Truly Cellophane Nose

  • Moby —
    This Wild Darkness

  • Fever Ray —
    IDK About You

  • Daniel Avery —
    Slow Fade

  • Fever Ray —
    Wanna Sip

  • Moby —
    Like A Motherless Child

  • Fever Ray —
    To The Moon And Back

  • Liars —
    Staring At Zero

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Moroccan Mountains

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Thrown Over The Wall

  • Liars —
    Cred Woes

  • Ben Frost —
    Threshold Of Faith

  • ADULT. —
    Uncomfortable Positions (feat. Lun*na Menoh)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    New Thing

  • Erasure —
    World Be Gone

  • Erasure —
    Love You To The Sky

  • Can —
    Dizzy Dizzy (The Singles Pt. 2)

  • Can —
    She Brings The Rain (The Singles Pt. 1)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Circular (Right As Rain)

  • ADULT. —
    We Are A Mirror (feat. Douglas J McCarthy)

  • Lift To Experience —
    Falling From Cloud 9


Reveal new video for Oh, Skinny Legs. 5 CD Box Set These Things & new album Offgrid:Offline out now.

Looper - Skinny Legs_00944

Looper released their 5 CD box set, These Things, this week. The box set collates tracks from their entire catalogue including tracks from the brand new album, Offgrid:Offline.

Digital releases of all of their albums are also available: Up A Tree (1999), The Geometrid (2000), The Snare (2002) and the new album Offgrid:Offline.

The band have unveiled a video for Oh, Skinny Legs, taken from the new album – watch it here:

Created by Karn David, the video is a collaboration with Iain Gardner, the Scottish BAFTA nominated animator (Check his Vimeo channel HERE )

The new album also features Farfisa Song (Listen here: http://youtu.be/fgn3d88oNhg) and Outro (Tiptoe Home) (Listen here: https://youtu.be/HG6tHD-aPGw) which Stuart David recently explained to FADER, “…is based on a little melody that recurs throughout the Offgrid:Offline album. It documents a time spent trapped in Dundee, and my overwhelming desire to escape.”

In an inventive reinterpretation of ‘The Boxset’, Looper have curated the database of their entire body of work as five separate CDs, themed by type and entitled lexiphonics, kinokraft, voxtrot, transmitte and melos (full tracklisting below).

Tim Burgess of The Charlatans, who helped the band out of a jam in 1999, provides further sleeve notes. When the batteries in a sampler ran out during a show in LA a member of the audience came to their rescue, running out to fetch a pack of AAs. Looper later heard Tim had been their unlikely hero, but it seemed so preposterous they dismissed the idea. Tim professes his love of Looper here: “I wasn’t even exactly sure where the music came from: the past, the present, the future, another life or a parallel universe but it totally chimed with what I loved – a starkness attached to the glitches and bleeps but a real go get ’em soul to go alongside that.”

Looper emerged from Belle & Sebastian in 1997, when Stuart David (co-founder and bass player of B&S) and his wife Karn (an artist who directed the early B&S videos) collaborated for a show at Glasgow School of Art. A degree show fundraiser for Stuart’s sister Karla Black – who received a Turner Prize nomination in 2011- the performance was a multi-media affair incorporating TVs, super 8 film, 35mm slides and kinetic sculptures. Since nothing broke down and everyone clapped, they decided to keep doing it.

The These Things box set coincides with the release of Stuart David’s latest book, In The All-Night Cafe, a memoir of Belle and Sebastian’s formative year, (out on16 April via Little Brown, for further information please visit: http://bit.ly/1HRWijq) and to celebrate, Karn David has created a video for the previously unreleased Belle & Sebastian studio recording, Paper Boat, written by Stuart David in 1997. The video features footage shot in ’98 when Neil Robertson (the then B&S manager) took Stuart Murdoch, Isobel Campbell, Stuart and Karn David, to Banchory, Aberdeenshire for a wee trip… Watch the video for Belle & Sebastian’s Paper Boat here:


Lexiphonics n. Spoken narratives accompanied by sample-based or electronic music, usually structured like a traditional pop song. [from Gk lexis: word, phonein: to make sounds, speak]

Kinokraft n. A form based around a looped riff. Vocals, when present, are usually sampled fragments- used as counter riffs. [from Gk kinemat: movement, Br craft: skill, art]

Voxtrot n. A hybrid form, combining elements of the ‘lo-fi’ pop song with the production and beats of hip hop and R&B. [from L vox: voice, Br trot: to move}

Transmitte n. A hybrid form, combining the ‘lo-fi’ pop song with arrangements and beats from all fields of electronica. [from Gl.* transmitter: send out signals, broadcast]

Melos n. A form in which the song is central. Elements from 1960s Easy Listening, Pop and Soul are combined using contemporary techniques and production. [from Gk. melos: song, tune]



Looper’s 5 CD box set, These Things, alongside digital releases of all of their albums – Up A Tree (1999), The Geometrid (2000), The Snare (2002) and Offgrid:Offline (2014) – are out now.

Stuart David embarks on a reading tour this week, catch him at the following venues:

16 April – Waterstones Edinburgh 6pm

17 April – Waterstones Glasgow 7pm

22 April – Mono Glasgow 7pm

23 April – Waterstones London (time tbc)




Website / Facebook / Twitter


Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Soundcloud | YouTube | Tumblr

Damo Suzuki – 1950-2024

Read More

Brian Griffin 1948-2024

Read More


Share Details of 25th Anniversary Release of Debut LP

Read More


New 18-Track Compilation

Read More

looper Quiet and Small


Release Acoustic Album, 'Quiet & Small' - Out Now



Shares new video for "I'm A Photograph", new album and boxset out now

Read More


Watch the new video for Mondo '77

Read More


Announce 5 CD Box Set 'These Things' - out 13/14 April, feat. tracks from brand new album 'Offgrid:Offline'.

Read More