• Vince Clarke

    Vince Clarke

  • Goldfrapp


  • The Acid

  • Plastikman

  • New Order

    New Order

  • A Certain Ratio

    A Certain Ratio

  • Lee Ranaldo

    Lee Ranaldo

  • Nicolas Bougaïeff

  • Daniel Avery

  • nonpareils


  • Daniel Blumberg

  • Chris Liebing

    Chris Liebing

  • K Á R Y Y N

    K Á R Y Y N

  • The Pop Group

  • HAAi

  • Sylph

  • Jake Shears

  • JakoJako

  • Sunroof

  • Miss Grit

  • Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming —
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming

  • Cold Specks —
    I Predict a Graceful Expulsion

  • Silicon Teens —
    Music for Parties

  • Carter Tutti Void —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Three Mantras

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Red Mecca

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Voice Of America

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Living Legends

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The Lyceum

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Cabaret Voltaire 1974-76

  • 2×45 —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Original Sound Of Sheffield '78 / '82 Best Of

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The YMCA 27.10.79.

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Methodology '74-'78: Attic Tapes

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Listen Up With Cabaret Voltaire

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Sweet Tooth Bird

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Yours Truly Cellophane Nose

  • Moby —
    This Wild Darkness

  • Fever Ray —
    IDK About You

  • Daniel Avery —
    Slow Fade

  • Fever Ray —
    Wanna Sip

  • Moby —
    Like A Motherless Child

  • Fever Ray —
    To The Moon And Back

  • Liars —
    Staring At Zero

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Moroccan Mountains

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Thrown Over The Wall

  • Liars —
    Cred Woes

  • Ben Frost —
    Threshold Of Faith

  • ADULT. —
    Uncomfortable Positions (feat. Lun*na Menoh)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    New Thing

  • Erasure —
    World Be Gone

  • Erasure —
    Love You To The Sky

  • Can —
    Dizzy Dizzy (The Singles Pt. 2)

  • Can —
    She Brings The Rain (The Singles Pt. 1)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Circular (Right As Rain)

  • ADULT. —
    We Are A Mirror (feat. Douglas J McCarthy)

  • Lift To Experience —
    Falling From Cloud 9


New Album & Tour Dates




Sunroof [Daniel Miller and Gareth Jones] release a new album, Electronic Music Improvisations Volume 2 – available on limited edition white vinyl and digitally, via the Parallel Series of Mute.

Electronic Music Improvisations Volume 2 is a set of eight improvised modular electronic music instrument pieces recorded at the duo’s respective home studios. The recording sessions followed release of their debut, Electronic Music Improvisations Volume 1 (2021) but where Vol. 1 was the result of four decades of friendship and collaboration, this new album came together in a relatively short space of time. Recorded in the same spirit as their previous sessions – with no pre-planning and no rehearsal – they met up with “unpatched” modular systems, and began improvising. Without any of the parameters they followed in the first sessions, the duo allowed the pieces to expand naturally, keeping editing to a minimum.

I suppose this is the difficult second album,” jokes Gareth, “it took 40 years to make the first album and just nine months to create this one!” Daniel expands, “We got on a roll and didn’t really stop recording once we had that momentum.”

During the sessions they found themselves aiming for more clarity and space within their improvisation, allowing the listener to be drawn into the pieces in a different kind of way. Textures glide, while random sequences knock against one another – forming then disintegrating before re-forming, and while they do so, uncovering minimal glitching rhythms 

The video imagery, created by Sunroof, depicts manipulated sequences triggered by software connected to the audio – a technique that they introduced into their live performance during a short run of live shows Vol. 1’s release. The album artwork, a watercolour painting by Gareth, draws an extra line between the visuals and the music, as Gareth explains, “the watercolour paintings take on their own life when the water interacts with the colour, bringing a creative connection to how the electronics react to our interaction.”

Daniel Miller (founder of Mute, the “accidental label” that began with the release of his own 7” single The Normal’s T.V.O.D / Warm Leatherette) met Gareth Jones, (the innovative and influential producer, engineer and artist) back when Miller asked Jones to work with him in late 1982 on what became Depeche Mode’s Construction Time Again. After Depeche Mode had gone home for the day, they would stay on to work on their own sessions, a practise that continues to this day. By the mid-nineties Sunroof had emerged as remix project going on to rework the likes of Can, MGMT, To Rococo Rot, Kreidler and Goldfrapp, their first recordings appeared on a compilation paying tribute to Neu!

The eight pieces that make up Electronic Music Improvisations Volume 2 are imbued with the experimental playfulness of early electronic pioneers but retain their modernity thanks to their creator’s constant explorations in electronic music.

Buy / listen to the album: https://mute.ffm.to/sunroof-emivol2 

Sunroof have announced details of a series of live shows, with more to follow.


7 April – Bristol, DareshackGOTO presents Sunroof / Russel Haswell

10 April – London, IKLECTIK presents A Modular+ evening with… Sunroof / Brood X Cycles [Nik Colk Void & Alexander Tucker] and Finlay Shakespeare

13 April – Berlin, Sonic Morgue at Betonhalle, Silent Green w/ faust & Chandra Shukla

15 April – Hamburg, Golden Pudel

Electronic Music Improvisations Volume 2 tracklisting:

1 – January #2

2 – July #2

3 – November

4 – July #3

5 – October

6 – September

7 – July #1

8 – January #1



Release A Bandcamp Exclusive

Read More


Share New Track

Read More


Announce Their Second Album Release

Read More