Throbbing Gristle Reissues Series Continue With 2 New Releases

The next phase of the Throbbing Gristle reissues series launches with the release of TGCD1 and The Third Mind Movements, out on CD and vinyl on 23 August 2024

Throbbing Gristle’s TGCD1 will be available on vinyl for the first time and on CD for the first time since The Grey Area of Mute’s release in 1986. TGCD1 comprises 42 minutes of studio recordings, recorded at TG’s infamous Martello Street studio on a TEAC 8-Track recorder on 18 March 1979. The release, which comes with a booklet featuring the original 1986 sleeve notes by the band, was originally an exclusive piece of unreleased material for Throbbing Gristle’s first-ever CD release, and today, the record’s dark sound stands as a significant chapter in their discography.

In 2004 Chris Carter, Peter Christopherson, Genesis P-Orridge and Cosey Fanni Tutti reformed – 23 years after their mission was originally terminated – and between 2004 and 2007 the band released Part Two: The Endless Not, TG Now and A Souvenir of Camber Sands – all recently reissued via Mute.

The Third Mind Movementsavailable for the first time on vinyl and commercially for the first time on CD – was initially an exclusive CD release for the band’s final US tour in 2009 – they would split for the final time the following year. The tour, which saw them perform in the US for the first time in 28 years, included their first shows in NY and an appearance at Coachella festival. The Third Mind Movements album, recorded during the Desertshore sessions at the ICA, London several years earlier – a series of six live recordings from the ICA attended by an attentive audience – journeys through manipulated, time-stretched and distorted samples, with rhythmical breakbeats and hypnotic oscillations of electronics.

Throbbing Gristle are Chris Carter, Peter ‘Sleazy’ Christopherson (1955-2010), Cosey Fanni Tutti and Genesis Breyer P-Orridge (1950-2020), their impact on music, culture and the arts is immeasurable and still felt today.


  1. The Man From Nowhere
  2. PreMature
  3. Secluded
  4. Perception Is The Only Reality
  5. Not That I Am
  6. The Third Mind: First Movement
  7. The Third Mind: Second Movement
  8. The Third Mind: Third Movement