• Vince Clarke

    Vince Clarke

  • Goldfrapp


  • The Acid

  • Plastikman

  • New Order

    New Order

  • A Certain Ratio

    A Certain Ratio

  • Lee Ranaldo

    Lee Ranaldo

  • Nicolas Bougaïeff

  • Daniel Avery

  • nonpareils


  • Daniel Blumberg

  • Chris Liebing

    Chris Liebing

  • K Á R Y Y N

    K Á R Y Y N

  • The Pop Group

  • HAAi

  • Sylph

  • Jake Shears

  • JakoJako

  • Sunroof

  • Miss Grit

  • Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming —
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming

  • Cold Specks —
    I Predict a Graceful Expulsion

  • Silicon Teens —
    Music for Parties

  • Carter Tutti Void —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Three Mantras

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Red Mecca

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Voice Of America

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Living Legends

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The Lyceum

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Cabaret Voltaire 1974-76

  • 2×45 —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Original Sound Of Sheffield '78 / '82 Best Of

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The YMCA 27.10.79.

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Methodology '74-'78: Attic Tapes

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Listen Up With Cabaret Voltaire

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Sweet Tooth Bird

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Yours Truly Cellophane Nose

  • Moby —
    This Wild Darkness

  • Fever Ray —
    IDK About You

  • Daniel Avery —
    Slow Fade

  • Fever Ray —
    Wanna Sip

  • Moby —
    Like A Motherless Child

  • Fever Ray —
    To The Moon And Back

  • Liars —
    Staring At Zero

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Moroccan Mountains

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Thrown Over The Wall

  • Liars —
    Cred Woes

  • Ben Frost —
    Threshold Of Faith

  • ADULT. —
    Uncomfortable Positions (feat. Lun*na Menoh)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    New Thing

  • Erasure —
    World Be Gone

  • Erasure —
    Love You To The Sky

  • Can —
    Dizzy Dizzy (The Singles Pt. 2)

  • Can —
    She Brings The Rain (The Singles Pt. 1)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Circular (Right As Rain)

  • ADULT. —
    We Are A Mirror (feat. Douglas J McCarthy)

  • Lift To Experience —
    Falling From Cloud 9

Miss Grit

Announces Debut Album


MISS GRIT, the New York-based, Korean-American musician Margaret Sohn (they/she), announces Follow the Cyborg, their debut album – out 24 February 2023 on Mute – and presents the title track and accompanying video. On Follow the Cyborg, Sohn pursues the path of a non-human machine, as it moves from its helpless origin to awareness and liberation. At times gentle and sparse, at times volatile and explosive, it occupies a sonic world of electronic experimentation and stirring electric guitars. As described by Pitchfork, “[Miss Grit] refuses to pack her songs into tidy, predictable shapes, instead allowing them to sprawl and rip.” 

Photo by Hoseon Sohn

Miss Grits’ impetus to conceive an album about the life of a cyborg stems from their own connection to this way of existing. As a mixed-race, non-binary artist, Sohn has always rejected the limits of identity thrust upon them by the outside world, in favour of embracing a more fluid and complex understanding of the self. Hailed by Rolling Stone as an “inventive, incisive singer-songwriter”, their process is introspective, their vision precise. In their exploration of the life of a cyborg, they subtly and overtly refer to films, including Her, Ex Machina, and Ghost in the Shell, as well as essays by Jia Tolentino (from Trick Mirror: Reflections on Self-Delusion) and Donna Horroway’s A Cyborg Manifesto

Today’s ‘Follow the Cyborg’ appears on the album twice – performed in English as well as in Korean (‘사이보그를 따라와’), Miss Grit’s second language-in-progress. This moment represents their reclaiming of both cultural identities; neither of which feel exactly like home without the other intertwined. Following previously-released ‘Like You’, ‘Follow the Cyborg’ hums with synth and Sohn’s controlled tenor. Percussion from Stella Mozgawa (Warpaint) signals a more upbeat turn, the track expanding with vibrant guitar lines and swells of saxophone. The accompanying video for the English version is a stunning cinematic piece directed by Curry Sicong Tian. Its opening is neon-tinged, culling colours from film, and later divulges with high-fashion, futuristic scenes and aesthetics, often found in the aforementioned anime. “‘I wanted to place my body in the cyber world, allowing the different variations of my ghost to move about freely,” says Sohn. “I wanted to look a little freakish, unrecognizable to myself to avoid my instinctive filtration.”

Watch the video for ‘Follow the Cyborg’:


Miss Grit has released two acclaimed EPs over the past three years, Talk, Talk, about the complexities of relationships, and Impostor on grappling with identity. The self-produced debut, Follow the Cyborg, was recorded entirely in their home studio, and mostly in solitude with several guest collaborators joining – Stella Mozgawa of Warpaint, Aron Kobayashi Ritch of Momma, and Pearla. 

Follow the Cyborg is available on smokey marbled vinyl, CD and digitally on 24 February 2023: https://mute.ffm.to/missgrit


1. Perfect Blue

2. Your Eyes Are Mine

3. Nothing’s Wrong

4. Lain (phone clone)

5. Buffering

6. Follow the Cyborg

7. 사이보그를 따라와

8. Like You

9. The End

10. Syncing


1 Nov – London (UK), Amazing Grace 

22 Nov – NYC (US), Baby’s All Right

24 Nov – LA (US), Moroccan 

Still image from ‘Follow the Cyborg’ music video


“Miss Grit’s self-produced second EP, ‘Impostor,’ is a confident and searching meditation on that psychological scourge Impostor Syndrome and her outsider status as a Korean-American growing up in the Midwest.” – The New York Times

“On her promising, impressively self-produced [Impostor] EP, Margaret Sohn addresses youthful self-doubt with flair, pairing punchy indie rock with subtle electronic flourishes.” – 

“Miss Grit…marries wiry guitars with keenly observed lyrics tackling self-doubt and finding a voice in young adulthood on her new EP Impostor.” – 




Miss Grit

Shares Two New Remixes

Read More

Miss Grit

Presents New Remixes of Debut Album

Read More

Miss Grit

‘Follow the Cyborg’ — OUT NOW + Live Dates

Read More

Miss Grit

Presents New Single

Read More

Miss Grit

Newest Signing Announces First Release For The Label

Read More