• Vince Clarke

    Vince Clarke

  • Goldfrapp


  • The Acid

  • Plastikman

  • New Order

    New Order

  • A Certain Ratio

    A Certain Ratio

  • Lee Ranaldo

    Lee Ranaldo

  • Nicolas Bougaïeff

  • Daniel Avery

  • nonpareils


  • Daniel Blumberg

  • Chris Liebing

    Chris Liebing

  • K Á R Y Y N

    K Á R Y Y N

  • The Pop Group

  • HAAi

  • Sylph

  • Jake Shears

  • JakoJako

  • Sunroof

  • Miss Grit

  • Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming —
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming

  • Cold Specks —
    I Predict a Graceful Expulsion

  • Silicon Teens —
    Music for Parties

  • Carter Tutti Void —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Three Mantras

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Red Mecca

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Voice Of America

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Living Legends

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The Lyceum

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Cabaret Voltaire 1974-76

  • 2×45 —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Original Sound Of Sheffield '78 / '82 Best Of

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The YMCA 27.10.79.

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Methodology '74-'78: Attic Tapes

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Listen Up With Cabaret Voltaire

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Sweet Tooth Bird

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Yours Truly Cellophane Nose

  • Moby —
    This Wild Darkness

  • Fever Ray —
    IDK About You

  • Daniel Avery —
    Slow Fade

  • Fever Ray —
    Wanna Sip

  • Moby —
    Like A Motherless Child

  • Fever Ray —
    To The Moon And Back

  • Liars —
    Staring At Zero

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Moroccan Mountains

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Thrown Over The Wall

  • Liars —
    Cred Woes

  • Ben Frost —
    Threshold Of Faith

  • ADULT. —
    Uncomfortable Positions (feat. Lun*na Menoh)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    New Thing

  • Erasure —
    World Be Gone

  • Erasure —
    Love You To The Sky

  • Can —
    Dizzy Dizzy (The Singles Pt. 2)

  • Can —
    She Brings The Rain (The Singles Pt. 1)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Circular (Right As Rain)

  • ADULT. —
    We Are A Mirror (feat. Douglas J McCarthy)

  • Lift To Experience —
    Falling From Cloud 9


‘New Decade’ – Out Now

“The soundworlds she has made her own squirm with electronic communication, where the pulses she sets down are both rhythms and messages yet to be decoded.” – THE WIRE

“From a quiet murmur to a euphoric wail” – ELECTRONIC SOUND

PHEW releases her latest album, New Decade, today on limited edition clear vinyl, CD and digitally via Mute: https://mute.ffm.to/phew.

Already well accustomed to working in isolation at home, keeping her voice down in order not to annoy the neighbours, New Decade is a stark and haunted album, populated by voices that intone empty pleasantries in English and Japanese or manifest as wordless shrieks and groans, against a backdrop of fractured, dubbed-out electronics.

Phew explains that there’s a loose concept running through the album, relating to the perception of time. “During the ’80s, and up until the ’90s, things progressed along a line from past to present to future, but I think thats changed, especially since the start of the 21st century. Personally speaking, Ive stopped being able to see a future that extends from the present.”

This is reflected in the unplaceable character of her current work. It’s not deliberately retro in the manner of many analogue synth revivalists, nor does Phew waste time trying to catch up with the latest trends. It’s music out of time, resonating to its own peculiar frequency.

Rising to prominence with the art-punk group Aunt Sally before her first solo release in 1981, recorded at Conny Plank’s studio in Cologne with Holger Czukay and Jaki Liebezeit, New Decade is her first for Mute since 1992’s Our Likeness. This latest phase of her career – first heard on the Japan-only New World (2015) – has delivered the purest distillation of Phew’s artistic voice, even as she’s diligently stripped the music of sentiment. “That’s why Im grateful I make electronic music,” she says. “If I was just singing, it would end up being about expressing my emotions, but with synthesisers you have to think really logically. Im constantly busy, so I dont have time for things like that!”

The album is an emotive listen and uneasy at times, but far from inaccessible. There is a warmth that channels her environment and conveys the mood of her continually well-travelled life.

Buy / listen to the album: https://mute.ffm.to/phew

Days Nights (video directed by Masayuki Shioda): https://youtu.be/a8weU44xAOA

‘Into The Stream’ (video directed by Lisa Aoki), https://youtu.be/p5xSxDRBgKQ

Phew – New Decade tracklisting

Snow and Pollen

Days Nights

Into the Stream

Feedback Tuning


Doing Nothing

https://linktr.ee/PhewPhew                     www.mute.com


Long-awaited Reissue & Tour Dates

Read More


Announces Reissue of 1992 Album

Read More


Shares New Track, Days Nights

Read More


Announces her forthcoming album 'New Decade'

Read More