• Vince Clarke

    Vince Clarke

  • Goldfrapp


  • The Acid

  • Plastikman

  • New Order

    New Order

  • A Certain Ratio

    A Certain Ratio

  • Lee Ranaldo

    Lee Ranaldo

  • Nicolas Bougaïeff

  • Daniel Avery

  • nonpareils


  • Daniel Blumberg

  • Chris Liebing

    Chris Liebing

  • K Á R Y Y N

    K Á R Y Y N

  • The Pop Group

  • HAAi

  • Sylph

  • Jake Shears

  • JakoJako

  • Sunroof

  • Miss Grit

  • Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming —
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming

  • Cold Specks —
    I Predict a Graceful Expulsion

  • Silicon Teens —
    Music for Parties

  • Carter Tutti Void —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Three Mantras

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Red Mecca

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Voice Of America

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Living Legends

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The Lyceum

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Cabaret Voltaire 1974-76

  • 2×45 —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Original Sound Of Sheffield '78 / '82 Best Of

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The YMCA 27.10.79.

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Methodology '74-'78: Attic Tapes

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Listen Up With Cabaret Voltaire

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Sweet Tooth Bird

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Yours Truly Cellophane Nose

  • Moby —
    This Wild Darkness

  • Fever Ray —
    IDK About You

  • Daniel Avery —
    Slow Fade

  • Fever Ray —
    Wanna Sip

  • Moby —
    Like A Motherless Child

  • Fever Ray —
    To The Moon And Back

  • Liars —
    Staring At Zero

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Moroccan Mountains

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Thrown Over The Wall

  • Liars —
    Cred Woes

  • Ben Frost —
    Threshold Of Faith

  • ADULT. —
    Uncomfortable Positions (feat. Lun*na Menoh)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    New Thing

  • Erasure —
    World Be Gone

  • Erasure —
    Love You To The Sky

  • Can —
    Dizzy Dizzy (The Singles Pt. 2)

  • Can —
    She Brings The Rain (The Singles Pt. 1)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Circular (Right As Rain)

  • ADULT. —
    We Are A Mirror (feat. Douglas J McCarthy)

  • Lift To Experience —
    Falling From Cloud 9


Reveal Video For ‘We Chase The Sound’ feat. Shannon Funchess




ADULT. (Detroit’s Nicola Kuperus and Adam Lee Miller) have unveiled the video for We Chase The Sound, featuring Shannon Funchess of Light Asylum.

Watch it here: https://youtu.be/MBOXBE9V5Zo

Filmed and edited by ADULT., the video features the wearable sculptures of Detroit designer Levon Millross.

ADULT. explain the concept of the video, “How do you visually represent sound? This was our main challenge.  We concluded the most effective way to represent sound was by means of light.  This then prompted us to invite Levon Millross to showcase his incredible wearable sculptures.  Levon’s work embodies sound.  It is created out of sound, so it was the perfect fit.” And go on to explain, “This video reflects the space between art and life.  It has an ephemeral quality, which made us instantly think of the work of Jack Smith, specifically his film “Flaming Creatures”. There is a shared sense of rhythmic power, a placeless and timeless nature, a rawness, which is filled with pulsating, ambiguously gendered, creatures.  We find that just when you feel exhausted from the constant strobe and relentless bass, there is a compulsion to watch it all over and over again.”

ADULT. embark on a tour of North America in May / June and have announced a series of European dates including MOTH Club in London and Optimo 20, a day long festival celebrating 20 years of the Glasgow club night in August, full details below.

Detroit House Guests is a collaborative project conceived by ADULT. Based on the visual artist residency model, each musician came to ADULT.’s studio for a three week period with the parameter that they all live, work and collaborate together. The result – a total anthropological sound experiment and a full length album.

The album features collaborations with a whole host of musicians and artists – Douglas J McCarthy from Nitzer Ebb, Michael Gira from Swans, Shannon Funchess from Light Asylum, Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe aka Lichens, Austrian thereminist Dorit Chrysler and multidisciplinary artist Lun*na Menoh.

ADULT. are the Detroit duo Nicola Kuperus and Adam Lee Miller. They played their first live show together in Germany in 1997 under the name Artificial Material. In early ’98 they released their first 12″ under the moniker Plasma Co. Later that year, they released their first 12″ under the name ADULT. Currently, they have released six albums and 19 EPs or singles on Ghostly International, Thrill Jockey and Clone Records, as well as on their own label Ersatz Audio, (which currently has over 40 releases since it was founded in ’95). They have remixed over 20 acts as well, including Tuxedomoon, John Foxx, Death in Vegas and Pet Shop Boys (for Moog Music).

Kuperus and Miller also make sculpture, paintings, films, photographs, performances, videos and installations. They strive to intersect the lines between art and audio and have exhibited their work at institutions such as the Austrian Cultural Forum (NY), Mattress Factory (Pittsburgh), Detroit Institute of Arts (Detroit), MOMAS (Saitama, Japan), and Centre d’art contemporain de Meymac (FR). They have shown their film The Three Grace(s) triptych at spaces such as Anthology Film Archives (NY), Distrital Film Festival (Mexico City), and Grey Area for Art and Technology (SF).


ADULT. DHG front cover



21 April – Nashville, TN – Third Man Records
22 April – Lexington, KY – Cosmic Charlie’s
4 May – Austin, TX – The Sidewinder
5 May – Dallas, TX – Three Links
6 May – Tulsa, OK – Tulsa Overgound
10 May – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s
11 May – Washington, DC – DC9
13 May – Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Bazaar
17 May – Allston, MA – Great Scott
19 May – Montreal, QC – NewSpeak
20 May – Toronto, ON – Velvet Underground
1 June – Cleveland, OH – Beachland Tavern
3 June – Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle
7 June – San Diego, CA – Casbah
8 June – Los Angeles, CA – Echoplex
9 June – San Francisco, CA – The Independent
10 June – Santa Cruz, CA – The Catalyst Atrium
15 June – Portland, OR – Doug Fir Lounge
17 June – Seattle, WA – The Crocodile
27 July – Belgium, Bazaar Club, Brussels
28 July – Germany, Krake Festival, Berlin
29 July – Spain, Razzamatazz, Barcelona
3 Aug – UK, MOTH Club, London
4 Aug – France, Festival Visions #5, Fort de Bertheaume, Plougonvelin
6 Aug – UK, Optimo 20, The Galveniser’s Yard, Glasgow


Praise for Detroit House Guests

“…intriguing collisions…” – UNCUT
“…highlight Breathe On finds Kuperus singing a sibilant foil to Swans bandleader Michael Gira’s breathy drawl atop a bed of spare creaky electronics” – THE WIRE
“…exhibits the astonishing breadth of their creative purview” – BLACKBOOK
“…richer and stranger than anything they’ve done before… unusually electrifying” – PITCHFORK


Further listening

They’re Just Words, featuring Douglas J McCarthy – https://youtu.be/2iJUThh_nbQ
Breathe On, featuring Michael Gira – https://youtu.be/GCeVE26o67A
Detroit House Guests on Spotify – https://open.spotify.com/album/2Yy38aCOA6NQgt0VMxwsKg




Uncomfortable Positions (feat. Lun*na Menoh)

Watch Video


Uncomfortable Positions (feat. Lun*na Menoh)

Read More


We Are A Mirror (feat. Douglas J McCarthy)

Watch Video


We Are A Mirror (feat. Douglas J McCarthy)

Read More


We Chase The Sound (feat. Shannon Funchess)

Watch Video


Listen To 'We Chase The Sound (featuring Shannon Funchess)'

Read More


Watch the video for They're Just Words feat Nitzer Ebb's Douglas J McCarthy

Read More


Brand new album Detroit House Guests

Read More