• Lee Ranaldo

  • Goldfrapp

  • Nicolas Bougaïeff

  • Anand Wilder & Maxwell Kardon

  • Plastikman

  • Zola Jesus

  • New Order

  • Arca

  • Looper

  • Du Blonde

  • On Dead Waves

  • Lost Under Heaven

  • Lift To Experience

  • A Certain Ratio

  • Richard H. Kirk & Sandoz

  • ADULT.

  • Liars

  • Swans

  • Ben Frost

  • Cold Specks

  • Grinderman 2 RMX —
    Grinderman 2 RMX

  • Liars —

  • Yeasayer —
    Fragrant World

  • Lost Under Heaven —
    Spiritual Songs For Lovers To Sing

  • Lift To Experience —
    Falling From Cloud 9 EP

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Three Mantras

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Sweet Tooth Bird

  • VCMG —
    Aftermaths EP3

  • On Dead Waves —
    On Dead Waves

  • Erasure —
    World Be Gone

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Red Mecca

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Yours Truly Cellophane Nose

  • Crime & The City Solution —
    An Introduction To... A History of Crime

  • Swans —
    The Glowing Man

  • Erasure —
    Love You To The Sky EP

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Voice Of America

  • VCMG —
    EP2/Single Blip

  • Land Observations —
    Roman Roads IV – XI

  • Mick Harvey —
    Delirium Tremens

  • Can —
    The Singles

  • Moby —
    Like A Motherless Child

  • Liars —
    Staring At Zero

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Moroccan Mountains

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Thrown Over The Wall

  • Liars —
    Cred Woes

  • Ben Frost —
    Threshold Of Faith

  • ADULT. —
    Uncomfortable Positions (feat. Lun*na Menoh)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    New Thing

  • Erasure —
    World Be Gone

  • Erasure —
    Love You To The Sky

  • Can —
    Dizzy Dizzy (The Singles Pt. 2)

  • Can —
    She Brings The Rain (The Singles Pt. 1)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Circular (Right As Rain)

  • ADULT. —
    We Are A Mirror (feat. Douglas J McCarthy)

  • Lift To Experience —
    Falling From Cloud 9

  • Goldfrapp —

  • ADULT. —
    We Chase The Sound (feat. Shannon Funchess)

  • Looper —
    Farfisa Song

  • Goldfrapp —

  • Maps —
    Playlist: Vicissitude

“Sweet Tooth Bird” Out 2/21




“YTCN is sonic art – its beauty buttressed with a tidal wave of spiky electric guitar solos, bizarre spoken word segments, and mid song shakeups.” 8/10  – Under The Radar

“YTCN bristles with ideas… enchantingly odd in parts, deftly pop in others” **** – Mojo

“Houghton follows her own idiosyncratic path. Where she treads others will undoubtedly follow.” **** – Uncut

 “Beth Jeans Houghton & The Hooves Of Destiny will steal your hearts” – Clash

With her dazzling debut album, Yours Truly, Cellophane Nose, picking up glowing reviews ahead of its February 28TH, 2012 release, Beth Jeans Houghton & The Hooves Of Destiny are set to release the giddy (but murderous) “Sweet Tooth Bird” with b-side “Telephone” as a digital single the week prior on February 21st.

Clocking in at a brisk 2 minutes 14 seconds (including psychedelic breakdown and trumpet fanfares) “Sweet Tooth Bird” is about sabotaging a relationship that’s too good. Or, says Houghton; “Something that is so good it’s bad. I think there is this strange feeling of guilt that we all get once we reach a stage of happiness. It is human nature to exist with grief and sadness.”

After the official video for “Sweet Tooth Bird” –– where we see Beth living in green houses in a post-apocalyptic world and building her own grave –– comes this live studio version from Beth and the boys at the Lightship95 Recording Studio, an old ship turned amazing studio docked at Trinity Buoy Warf in East London. Head over to themutechannel or PASTE to watch the band nail it. To check out the impressive space aboard Lightship95 and view photos, go to http://www.miloco.co.uk/studios/lightship95/image-gallery/

The debut album Yours Truly, Cellophane Nose was created with producer Ben Hiller (Blur / Elbow / Depeche Mode). It introduces one of the most self-assured new bands of the year, fronted by a pop polymath whose blend of psychedelia, glam rock and chain gang folk is quite unlike anything else you’re likely to hear in 2012.


1. Sweet Tooth Bird

2. Telephone

bjh.tumblr.com | facebook.com/BethjeansHoughton

mute.com | facebook.com/muterecords