• Vince Clarke

    Vince Clarke

  • Goldfrapp


  • The Acid

  • Plastikman

  • New Order

    New Order

  • A Certain Ratio

    A Certain Ratio

  • Lee Ranaldo

    Lee Ranaldo

  • Nicolas Bougaïeff

  • Daniel Avery

  • nonpareils


  • Daniel Blumberg

  • Chris Liebing

    Chris Liebing

  • K Á R Y Y N

    K Á R Y Y N

  • The Pop Group

  • HAAi

  • Sylph

  • Jake Shears

  • JakoJako

  • Sunroof

  • Miss Grit

  • Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming —
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming

  • Cold Specks —
    I Predict a Graceful Expulsion

  • Silicon Teens —
    Music for Parties

  • Carter Tutti Void —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Three Mantras

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Red Mecca

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Voice Of America

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Living Legends

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The Lyceum

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Cabaret Voltaire 1974-76

  • 2×45 —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Original Sound Of Sheffield '78 / '82 Best Of

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The YMCA 27.10.79.

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Methodology '74-'78: Attic Tapes

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Listen Up With Cabaret Voltaire

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Sweet Tooth Bird

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Yours Truly Cellophane Nose

  • Moby —
    This Wild Darkness

  • Fever Ray —
    IDK About You

  • Daniel Avery —
    Slow Fade

  • Fever Ray —
    Wanna Sip

  • Moby —
    Like A Motherless Child

  • Fever Ray —
    To The Moon And Back

  • Liars —
    Staring At Zero

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Moroccan Mountains

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Thrown Over The Wall

  • Liars —
    Cred Woes

  • Ben Frost —
    Threshold Of Faith

  • ADULT. —
    Uncomfortable Positions (feat. Lun*na Menoh)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    New Thing

  • Erasure —
    World Be Gone

  • Erasure —
    Love You To The Sky

  • Can —
    Dizzy Dizzy (The Singles Pt. 2)

  • Can —
    She Brings The Rain (The Singles Pt. 1)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Circular (Right As Rain)

  • ADULT. —
    We Are A Mirror (feat. Douglas J McCarthy)

  • Lift To Experience —
    Falling From Cloud 9

The Pop Group

& Dennis Bovell MBE Share a New Track From the Brand New Dub Version of Their Debut Album



“Dub to me is the music of chance.  A teenage dream come true – at last – this one’s for the explorers.”  Mark Stewart

The Pop Group and dub maestro Dennis ‘Blackbeard’ Bovell MBE have shared a new track from their forthcoming dub version of The Pop Group’s debut album, Y, one of the era-defining releases of the post-punk period. This new track gives another taste of what to expect from this clash of the titan’s forthcoming release, Y in Dub, out on 29 October 2021 on Mute.

From its original release in 1979, ‘She Is Beyond Good And Evil’ has been showered with accolades – from NME’s Singles of the Year, to the Guardian’s 1000 Songs Everyone Must Hear – this key track in band’s career is the next in line for a new Dennis Bovell dub reworking.

Listen to the new version here:

Mirroring the tracklisting of their 1979 debut, Y in Dub is a 9-track collection of heavyweight dub versions that match the prodigious intensity of their source material, reflecting the enterprising originality of the dub and reggae music that inspired The Pop Group, as well as the legendary ingenuity of their longstanding collaborator Dennis Bovell, recently was awarded an MBE for his services to music.

After celebrating the 40th anniversary reissue of Y – released by Mute in 2019 – ThePop Group enlisted Bovell to reinterpret the album after his extraordinary appearance at Rough Trade East in London for the band’s ‘Salon Y’ event series the same year. The event saw Bovell perform live versions of ‘She Is Beyond Good & Evil’ and ‘3.38’, based on the deconstructive principles of dub. With Y In Dub, Bovell reprises his role at the controls.

Testifying to the legacy of the original yet also signifying a new, alternate triumph, Y In Dub sees The Pop Group and Bovell explore latent possibilities within the fabric of Y. Here they amplify shadows and echoes, intensively accentuating the resonance of each element. The original material is submerged and prolonged, shattered, splintered, and sculpted into turbulent, contrasting forms which deviate from the original tracks in compelling, unexpected ways.

Y in Dub will be released on Mute on CD and digitally on 29 October 2021, with the vinyl release, which comes with an exclusive poster, set to follow on 25 March 2022: https://mute.ffm.to/yindub  

‘She Is Beyond Good And Evil’ (Dennis Bovell Dub Version): https://youtu.be/e9Wdwm4FjTs

‘Words Disobey Me’ (Dennis Bovell Dub Version): https://youtu.be/pPJY-f_aDxU

Pre-order: https://mute.ffm.to/yindub


“Remains one of the most unsettling milestones of post-punk music” 9/10 Uncut

“On its 1979 release I admired it… now it sounds like the most vital, lifesaving racket on earth” 5/5 Record Collector

“Forty intervening years of post-punk and punk-funk have done nothing to dilute the shock… it sounds extraordinary” 4/5 MOJO

“This is a record of dire necessity, armed for combat against a long litany of ills” #35 ‘Top 100 Best Albums of the 1970s’ – Pitchfork

“A maelstrom of dub and distortion effects, a tempest of extremes.” ‘100 Most Important Records Ever Made’ – The Wire

‘Top 50 Best Post-Punk Albums Ever’ – Pop Matters


The Pop Group

JOHN WADDINGTON - 01/01/1960 - 20/06/2023

Read More

Fraud Alert

Read More

The Pop Group

Y in Dub announced

Read More

The Pop Group

Exclusive! Hear the remarkable new Half Speed remaster of The Pop Group’s essential album Y

Read More


Read More

The Pop Group

Debut album 'Y' Remastered Reissue Boxsets

Read More