• Vince Clarke

    Vince Clarke

  • Goldfrapp


  • The Acid

  • Plastikman

  • New Order

    New Order

  • A Certain Ratio

    A Certain Ratio

  • Lee Ranaldo

    Lee Ranaldo

  • Nicolas Bougaïeff

  • Daniel Avery

  • nonpareils


  • Daniel Blumberg

  • Chris Liebing

    Chris Liebing

  • K Á R Y Y N

    K Á R Y Y N

  • The Pop Group

  • HAAi

  • Sylph

  • Jake Shears

  • JakoJako

  • Sunroof

  • Miss Grit

  • Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming —
    Hurry Up, We're Dreaming

  • Cold Specks —
    I Predict a Graceful Expulsion

  • Silicon Teens —
    Music for Parties

  • Carter Tutti Void —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Three Mantras

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Red Mecca

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Voice Of America

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Living Legends

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The Lyceum

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Cabaret Voltaire 1974-76

  • 2×45 —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    The Original Sound Of Sheffield '78 / '82 Best Of

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Live At The YMCA 27.10.79.

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Methodology '74-'78: Attic Tapes

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —
    Listen Up With Cabaret Voltaire

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Cabaret Voltaire —

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Sweet Tooth Bird

  • Beth Jeans Houghton —
    Yours Truly Cellophane Nose

  • Moby —
    This Wild Darkness

  • Fever Ray —
    IDK About You

  • Daniel Avery —
    Slow Fade

  • Fever Ray —
    Wanna Sip

  • Moby —
    Like A Motherless Child

  • Fever Ray —
    To The Moon And Back

  • Liars —
    Staring At Zero

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Moroccan Mountains

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Thrown Over The Wall

  • Liars —
    Cred Woes

  • Ben Frost —
    Threshold Of Faith

  • ADULT. —
    Uncomfortable Positions (feat. Lun*na Menoh)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    New Thing

  • Erasure —
    World Be Gone

  • Erasure —
    Love You To The Sky

  • Can —
    Dizzy Dizzy (The Singles Pt. 2)

  • Can —
    She Brings The Rain (The Singles Pt. 1)

  • Lee Ranaldo —
    Circular (Right As Rain)

  • ADULT. —
    We Are A Mirror (feat. Douglas J McCarthy)

  • Lift To Experience —
    Falling From Cloud 9

Ora The Molecule

Shares ‘The Ball’ Remixes, Featuring Nick Monaco And Melora



credit: Jonathan Vivaas Kise

“…sleek, icy, slightly strange dance-pop…” – CONSEQUENCE OF SOUND

“…off-kilter yet immediately engrossing electronic pop.” – MTV NEWS

“…impossibly infectious…not like everybody else.” – BLACKBOOK

Ora The Molecule today shares two new remixes for “The Ball,” the latest single from her debut studio album, Human Safari, which will be released July 23 on Mute.

Fans are treated to remixes by UNISEX Records co-founder Nick Monaco and Montreal newcomers Melora. Monaco’s take on the single ramps up the tempo and pairs sirens with arpeggiated motifs to create an intense groove. Melora – the duo of Jessica Abruzzese and Gino La Posta – take “The Ball” in a decidedly more synthwave direction with punchy percussion and majestic synth washes.

Of the Nick Monaco remix, Nora Schjelderup – the creative force behind Ora The Molecule – says, “Instant crush on this one! I get jungle vibes. It’s organic in the soundscape and it feels like we are diving into nature. It makes me think of a spiced up Francis Bebey in an electronic dress. Loving it!”

Reflecting on Melora’s reimagining, she notes, “This track takes you on a proper ride. From a plane about to take off, to full on drum and bass in the clouds! It has an overall old school vibe that gives me associations to early Moby. Really cool remix!”

Pre-order Human Safari on orange crush transparent vinyl, CD, and digital platforms here. All physical editions come with a one-of-a-kind Polaroid photo with doodle done by Nora Schjelderup (see artwork for her previously released singles for an example of her drawings).

Watch the video for “The Ball” here.


Ora The Molecule is the musical moniker of Norwegian-born avant-pop artist Nora Schjelderup. For Schjelderup, life has always been about observation and finding one’s purpose in the community at large. She is the molecule personified: the smallest bit of matter that retains its own identity while being part of something greater. This keen sense of inspection and willingness to surrender to feelings of wide-eyed wonder guided Schjelderup from her childhood to the release of her debut album, Human Safari.

For the LP, Schjelderup adopted role of observer as she examined the world around her. “You could look at it like a bird walking around and feeling stupid for not understanding how everything works,” she theorizes. “You feel small. When cognition takes over, those feelings can come easily because it’s so much to take in for a tiny creature. It’s celebrating the spectacle.”

Human Safari consists of 12 songs alternating between joyous, beat-driven avant-pop and slick synthwave. “It’s for sure two poles,” Schjelderup explains. “The speaker is the storyteller and the instrumentals are nature or the way life goes. Sometimes you get scared, sometimes it opens up. It’s life. I wanted to make a landscape where the voice could guide you through and be a safe voice. So even when it’s a little bit darker, you’re still in the story and it continues.”

Throughout her life – and the album – Schjelderup espouses the concept of the extended chosen family and welcoming those who might otherwise feel uninvited. “It’s a sense of belonging, a sense of oneness that you don’t see in other parts of society,” she says. “Community is everything. It’s very important but it starts with the individual. If I can contribute to that, I want to do it.”

Human Safari Tracklisting

1. The Ball

2. Sugar

3. Creator

4. Die To Be A Butterfly

5. Helicopter

6. Shadow Twin

7. Beat Beat Beat

8. I Wanna Be Like You

9. Pocket Universe

10. You Need Air

11. Silence

12. Souldigging

The Ball Remixes EP Tracklisting

1. The Ball (Nick Monaco Remix)

2. The Ball (Melora Remix)

Watch the video for “Creator”

Watch the video for “Die To Be A Butterfly”

Watch the video for “The Ball”

Listen to the “Creator” remixes

Listen to the “Die To Be A Butterfly” remixes

Listen to “The Ball” remixes



July 13, 2021

Ora The Molecule

Shares New Video For “Beat Beat Beat” & New Remixes By Gillian Gilbert, Moon Boots, And OTON

Read More

Ora The Molecule

Shares New Video & Remixes For 'Helicopter'

Read More

Ora The Molecule

Shares New Song, 'The Ball,' and Video

Read More